NSSS Round 1 Round Up – Now Heading to Mothar Mountain Gympie – Wednesday 7th January

06/01/15…Pam Franz….courtesy of www.nationalsupersedanseries.com

Darren Kane has started the chase for his unprecedented fifth National Super Sedan Series crown with a strong win in the opening round of the 10th Anniversary season at Archerfield Speedway in Brisbane tonight.
Kane started from pole position in the Ian Boettcher Race Parts Dominator #36 and led the entire race, which was plagued by several cautions in the 30 lap affair.

Matt Pascoe engaged in a late race battle with Kane at the final restart after getting past a tough challenger in Dave Gartner in the Castrol #8 that went on for many laps.

Gartner would stack the field up behind him in the closing laps, that saw at least ten cars involved.

Wayne Randall finished fourth ahead of Mark Pagel with South Aussie, Ryan Alexander, completed the top six

Dale Christensen was the races biggest casualty after colliding with a stationary Mick Nicola on the entry point to turn one at the end of lap 13.

Christensen now has a hard task to have the car ready for Round 2 on Wednesday night.

Matt Williams also came to an end after a strong showing earlier in the final.

Earlier in the night, Dave Gartner collected the first Speedway Racing News Quick Time Award of the season with a 14.503 late in the final session.

Heat race wins included Matt Pascoe with two, Mark Pagel, Steve Jordan, Gary Pagel and Dale Christensen.

For the first time in the ten years of the NSSS, a Super 7s’ race was held to sort the the first three and a half rows of the grid.

Darren Kane thrilled the local Brisbane fans claiming pole position by a mere 3/10ths of a second ahead of Pascoe, Gartner, Kodee Brown and Wayne Randall in the final two lap sprint.

Lachlan Onley claimed the Super Charge Batteries Hard Charger Award and the Shock Doctor Lucky 7’s Award after his storming drive passing seven cars to finish 7th at race end.

The NSSS now heads to Mothar Mountain Speedway in Gympie this Wednesday night where drivers will contest the uniquely shaped oval track which also includes the Queensland Cup.

Leave a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.