Carline NSSS Calendar Confirmed for 2011/12

19/06/11…NSSS Media Release
The schedule of events for the 2011/2012 Carline Mufflers National Super Sedan Series has been finalised with some very exciting additions to the championship. In what is shaping as the biggest season ever in the history of the series, both Tasmania and Western Australia will host NSSS events for the first time. 

Negotiating the schedule and finalising the logistics of what will be a significant undertaking has taken several months, but NSSS Manager Tony Parkinson is excited about the addition of events in Tasmania and Western Australia.  “The Carline Mufflers National Super Sedan Series is going to be a truly national competition with the 2011/2012 series including both Tasmania and Western Australia in the eleven round schedule.   Hopefully this will be the first of many years with their involvement in the NSSS”.

The series will kick off in Queensland once again, with Gympie’s Mothar Mountain Speedway hosting round one on Thursday, December 29.  Round two will be the traditional New Year’s Eve event at Toowoomba’s Charlton Raceway on Saturday, December 31.  Following the huge success of the inaugural NSSS appearance at Tyrepower Sydney Speedway last season, the Parramatta circuit will host round three of the championship on Wednesday, January 4.

Another change to the schedule for the 2011/2012 season is the return of Mildura’s Timmis Speedway as a host venue. Mildura will host a Friday night fixture on January 6, with round five to be decided at Murray Bridge in South Australia the following night (Saturday, January 7). 

After Murray Bridge, teams will enjoy a brief, but well-earned, break to regroup, rebuild and refresh in preparation for their Tasmanian invasion. The first ever NSSS event in Tasmania will be staged at Cranes Combined Carrick Speedway on Friday, January 20. Latrobe’s Bendigo Bank Arena will host round seven just 24 hours later (Saturday, January 21) before Carrick becomes the first track to host multiple rounds in a season with a second fixture on Wednesday, January 25.

At the completion of the Tasmanian swing, the series will break again for an extended period before the first ever Western Australian rounds are staged in March. With additional financial support from Speedway Australia and Speedway Sedans Australia to assist competitors trekking across the Nullarbor, it is envisaged that a very strong line-up of drivers will converge on Kalgoorlie for the inaugural WA fixture on Wednesday, March 7.  Albany Speedway will host round 10 on March 9 before the championship culminates with a spectacular Grand Final at Perth Motorplex on Saturday, March 10.

Expressions of Interest for competitors looking to secure a place on the tour and be considered for a share of the travel money allocation close on Friday, 29 July. For more information, visit the series website at 

2011/2012 Carline Mufflers National Super Sedan Series race schedule:

Round 1: Mothar Mountain Speedway (Gympie) – Thursday, December 29
Round 2: Charlton Raceway (Toowoomba) – Saturday, December 31
Round 3: Tyrepower Sydney Speedway (Parramatta) – Wednesday, January 4
Round 4: Timmis Speedway (Mildura) – Friday, January 6
Round 5: Murray Bridge Speedway – Saturday, January 7
Round 6: Cranes Combined Carrick Speedway – Friday, January 20
Round 7: Bendigo Bank Arena (Latrobe) – Saturday, January 21
Round 8: Cranes Combined Carrick Speedway – Wednesday, January 25
Round 9: Kalgoorlie International Speedway – Wednesday, March 7
Round 10: Attwell Park Speedway (Albany) – Friday, March 9
Grand Final: Perth Motorplex – Saturday, March 10

The 2011/2012 Carline Mufflers National Super Sedan Series is proudly supported by:

Carline Mufflers, Speedway Australia, Speedway Sedans Australia, Supercharge Batteries, AFCO Shock Doctor, Bergmeier Engineering, Oval Express Magazine, JD Couriers, Art by Mickey, Ian Boettcher Race Parts, American Tire and Racing Services, Hoosier Tyres, Race Hard, Comfort Inn and Suites Robertson Gardens, City Motor Inn, Toowoomba

Leave a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.