Aidan Raymont takes out Inaugural Modified Sedan Gold Rush Show Down

02/10/17…Webadmin…story courtesy SSA Media Jason Crowe – photo thanks to Revhead Productions

Aidan Raymont has found himself $3000 richer after winning the inaugural Modified Sedan Gold Rush, at the Corbets Group, Mothar Mountain Speedway, Gympie on Sunday night.

The former National Champion, and current Victorian Champion started from pole position and ultimately led every lap, but he certainly didn�t have it all his own way.

Raymont started along side Michael Shelford, who along with Raymont, won the two preliminary A Mains on Saturday night. Behind the duo would be Tim Atkin and Jamie OMeara.

All drivers successfully negotiated the first seven laps before the first interruption, with Brock Atkins from Victoria making the early move from position five to position three. Brad Yarrow and Russell Harris spun in Pagels corner, bunching the field for the first time since the initial start.

Upon the resumption, Raymont, Shelford and Atkins cleared away from the opposition, opening a sizeable gap, but that amounted to nought when David Jacobi spun on lap thirteen.

Shelford would be all over the back end of Raymont in the middle stages of the 35 lap main event, as the leaders hit heavy traffic.

On lap twenty Brayden Pacey spun, with a resultant restart seeing a multi car pile up in the hair pin with Mark Raymont, Brad Yarrow and TJ Horne all involved.

The great battle for the lead continued, with Brock Atkins finally passing Shelford on lap twenty six, but Raymont had opened a small gap, which in the concluding stages grew to a handy lead.

Raymont cruised on to defeat Atkins and Shelford, with Tim Atkin, Kye Walters and Brett Baxter rounding out the top six.

A Main, 35 Laps: 1. V1 Aidan Raymont, 2. V4 Brock Atkins, 3. SB54 Michael Shelford, 4. BB2 Tim Atkin, 5. V45 Kye Walters, 6. B42 Brett Baxter, 7. G97 Brad Yarrow, 8. G26 Jamie OMeara, 9. C89 TJ Horne, 10. V36 Kellie Atkins, 11. G29 Jessica OMeara (34 laps), 12, SC30 Jason Dreaver (34), 13. G27 Mark Raymont (34), 14. CR111 Peter White (33), 15. N36 David Jacobi (33), 16. N63 Brayden Pacey (19), 17. C69 Russell Harris (19), 18. CR24 David Head (18), 19. SC6 Troy Simsey (12), 20. CR27 Sean Black (6). Time: No Time, Winning Margin: 1.784, Fastest Lap: 18.374 V1 Aidan Raymont

Leave a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.