Qld Stars to Shine Again for NSSS

07/11/10…NASR National Office

The facts speak for themselves. Since the Carline Mufflers National Super Sedan Series began, Queensland has been the dominant force in the competition.  No other state is yet to produce a series winner or have as many drivers represented in the chase for the championship. The level of Queensland success enjoyed over the last five years is due largely to a thriving state competition – which is the envy of all others with regard to competitor numbers, prizemoney, sponsorship, spectator and venue support. The level of competition is intense every week, which serves as the ideal preparation for those drivers chasing the NSSS championship.

Traditionally, this local depth also ensures that the Queensland rounds of the series attract the biggest fields and provide some of the fiercest competition for the NSSS contracted stars.  The strength of the Queensland Super Sedan scene is easily recognisable through the fact that seven Queensland-based drivers have confirmed their place amongst the 23 contracted drivers confirmed thus far.

Defending NSSS champion Matt Pascoe headlines the Queensland contingent, with fellow Ipswich-based speedster Darren Kane the only driver in the field who has also claimed a NSSS crown.  Having slogged it out for series honours last season, the duo are again expected to lead the charge for the championship.  Townsville’s Trent Wilson, who enjoyed a stellar NSSS debut last season, will be making the trek from Townsville again to chase the championship, along with a fellow north Queenslander in Des Korn.

As one of the most exciting drivers in the category and fresh from a feature race win in Toowoomba on Saturday night, Steve Jordan is always a welcome addition to the NSSS driver roster and will be a genuine contender for the title. Meanwhile, Gladstone’s Graeme Elliott has re-signed after an aborted campaign last season, with Rookie of the Year contender Colin Hockley completing the Queensland line-up. However, with most other states having assembled their strongest fields ever for the 2010/2011 championship, the days of Queensland domination may be over.  Only time will tell.

Matt Pascoe QLD #15
Age: 33
Resides: Ipswich
Car: Sweet – Dodge Avenger
Sponsors: NQ Proline Plasterboard Contractors, Duce Timber Windows & Doors, Dryden Signs, Caravan Repair Company, Keith 4 Wheels, Quantum Racing Industries, Joe Gibbs Racing Oils

Darren Kane QLD #36
Age: 47
Resides: Ipswich
Car: Dominator – Mazda RX8
Sponsors: Dominator Race Cars, Ian Boettcher Race Parts, Ian Boettcher Mazda, Castrol Oils

Trent Wilson QLD #25
Age: 26
Resides: Townsville
Car: Dominator – Dodge Charger
Sponsors: Molytec Australia, Saks Stripes, Tony Ireland Isuzu, Northern Hard Surfaces, Les Wells Steel, BEA Sheetmetal, Automotive Industrial Services, Rockin’ Out Hair

Des Korn QLD #61
Age: 58
Resides: Mackay
Car: Dominator – Dodge Charger
Sponsors: Sport Engines, Aussie Trackwear, King Springs

Steve Jordan QLD #10
Age: 45
Resides: Brisbane
Car: Sweet – Dodge Avenger
Sponsors: Hinzy Designs, Back Page Sports Bar, Clark Signs

Graeme Elliott QLD #3
Age: 60
Resides: Gladstone
Car: Rocket – Pontiac Grand Prix
Sponsors: Walz Group, Drinnans Plant Hire, B&H Peters Transport, AZZ Engineering

Colin Hockley QLD #17
Age: 38
Resides: Brisbane
Car: Dominator –
Sponsors: J & H Air Conditioning, Corporate Cleaning Services, East Coast Traffic Control, Penrite Oil