Nicola Wins the Battle but Kane Wins the NSSS War

11/02/09…NASR/SSA Media Release

Victoria’s Michael Nicola sat patiently in second position for 34 laps prior to executing a winning outside pass on Darren Kane to clinch the 40-lap 2008/2009 Carline Mufflers National Super Sedan Series Grand Final at Murray Bridge Speedway on Saturday night.

The Murray Bridge track surface provided the grand stage for a finale that literally came alive in the last 15 laps. Kane held on for a runner-up finish – which was enough to clinch the championship victory – despite a valiant attempt by Matt Pascoe, who stepped outside with seven laps to go to advance from seventh to third.

Nicola, who has been chasing an elusive NSSS round victory after a string of podium results, revived memories of last years final at the same circuit  when he stormed from the back of the field for a podium finish. On this occasion, Nicola was not to be denied and charged to the chequer to secure third overall in the championship standings.

Shane Best drove a consistent race, occupying third spot for the most part, only to fall back to fourth as a result of Pascoe’s surge in the last few laps. Tony Barklimore enjoyed a great night, qualifying his Toyota Camry on the front row alongside Kane. Barklimore settled into fourth before ultimately annexing fifth position.

Danny Miller, Lucas Roberts, Dave Gartner, Gil Worthley and Chris Blunden rounded out the top ten, with Jack Childs the only other driver to complete the event.

Kane was excited to win the NSSS crown, finishing with 4622 points to defeat Pascoe (4319) and Nicola (4080).  “When Mick went around me, the foot went down as I wanted to race him, but I thought again and said to myself, don’t let the series slip now” said Kane. “I knew Matty would be around the place too and therefore had to finish and not take any chances.”

The last official function of the 2008/09 Carline National Super Sedan Series is the Adelaide Convention Centre, where Darren Kane and the Ian Boettcher Race Team will be awarded their series crown.

The 2008/2009 Carline Mufflers National Super Sedan Series is proudly supported by the                    following sponsors:

Carline Mufflers, Bergmeier Engineering, American Racer Tyres, JD Couriers, Shock Doctor, Oval Express Magazine, Art by Mickey, APCO Warrnambool, Comfort Inn and Suites Robertson Gardens, Rocky Resort Motor Inn, Comfort Inn on Raglan, National Association of Speedway Racing (NASR), Speedway Sedans Australia (ASCF), J & C Carrell Speedway Photography