McHugh Wins NSSS Warrnambool Round

12/01/10…NASR National Office

Jamie McHugh has emerged victorious in a spectacular round seven of the 2009/2010 Carline Mufflers National Super Sedan Series at Warrnambool’s Premier Speedway tonight.  Launching from pole position after top qualifier Kevin Purton elected to start from position two, McHugh led throughout the 35-lap feature event to score his first NSSS win of the season.  

On a superb multi-groove racetrack, fellow Queenslander Matt Pascoe (Duce Windows and Doors Sweet-Dodge) advanced from position seven to finish in second spot, reclaiming the series lead and taking out the APCO Warrnambool Tri-City Series along the way. 

Having dominated qualifying with two slashing heat wins, Purton was again very strong in the feature but was unable to match the pace of McHugh and Pascoe, ultimately finishing in third spot ahead of defending series champ Darren Kane and two-time series winner Wayne Randall, who was the standout amongst the non-contracted drivers.

Sam Hughes (Fairbrother Group Rocket-Pontiac) was solid once more in finishing sixth, while Steve Jordan sliced through the field from position 16 to finish in seventh spot and retain third overall in the championship standings.  Wayne Brims, Dave Gartner and Shane Best rounded out the top ten, followed by Ashley Bergmeier, Des Korn, Lucas Roberts, Clayton Pyne and Brad Smith (Little Transport Devil-Cadillac).  On another night with very few incidents, Trevor Ware, Michael Nicola, Chris Bussey and Bill Miller completed the finishers. The only casualties were Wayne Miles, Michael Doblo and Townsville’s Trent Wilson, who put in an outstanding performance throughout the night before an engine problem ended his charge just a lap from home.

The heat racing was breathtaking at times with some superb performances from several drivers. Joining Purton on the winners list were McHugh, Randall, Kane, Bergmeier, Miller, Hughes and Wilson. 

The B Main was a hard fought affair that saw Gartner prevail over Jordan, with Bussey, Roberts and Smith also transferring into the main event. Nicola, Miles and Ware called upon their provisional to secure a place in the feature race field. 

The drivers now enjoy a much deserved break before regathering at Geelong’s Avalon Raceway on Saturday night (January 16) for round eight of the Carline championship.

Contingency winners

AFCO Shock Doctor Lucky Sevens – Steve Jordan Super Charge Hard Charger – Steve Jordan Oval Express Best Presented Car and Crew – Shane Best Ian Boettcher Race Parts Hard Luck Award – Trent Wilson

2009/2010 Carline Mufflers National Super Sedan Series progressive pointscore top ten (after 6 of 10 rounds): Matt Pascoe 2457, Darren Kane 2390, Steve Jordan 1901, Jamie McHugh 1753, Dave Gartner 1738, Kevin Purton 1732, Michael Nicola 1730, Sam Hughes 1620, Wayne Brims 1591, Trent Wilson 1502

2009/2010 APCO Warrnambool Tr-City Series final pointscore (top ten): Matt Pascoe 1541, Wayne Brims 1365, Jamie McHugh 1285, Kevin Purton 1247, Darren Kane 1216, Steve Jordan 1125, Sam Hughes 1110, Wayne Randall 1019, Michael Nicola 900, Dave Gartner 898