Exide Batteries Nambour Qld Modified Production Series Round 1

10/11/09…Pam Franz

The list of nominations for the dual opening rounds of the Modified Production Sedan Masondale Heavy Haulage Fraser Coast Drivers Championship and the Exide Batteries Nambour Queensland Series is an outstanding compilation of the best Modified Production drivers and equipment that money can buy.  All competitors will be flat out to gain maximum points for both of the series events.Untitled

The Masondale Heavy Haulage Fraser Coast Series will be conducted throughout the season at the Maryborough Speedway.

The Exide Batteries Nambour Queensland Series will be run over 5 rounds at 4 of South-East Queensland’s speedway circuits.

The attraction of becoming a series champion and the extra prize and bonus money that entails has produced the 50 strong nomination list for the opening rounds. The promoters and sponsors alike have been blown away with the magnificent response from competitors.

Dennis Bagnall, a long time speedway competitor himself, and proprietor of Exide Batteries Nambour states, “Give the competitor something decent to race for and they will all come out to play.”

Ryan Harris of Maryborough Speedway backs this up. “When we started this, we had no idea of the fantastic support that a Fraser Coast Series would receive,” he said. “Masondale Heavy Haulage grabbed the opportunity to be involved. Now Dennis and Exide Batteries Nambour have further increased the size of the pay packet, who knows where we could end up.”

One result is sure and certain; the racing in these series will be hot from go to whoa.  Modified Production racing always produces fast, close panel rubbing action. All nominees are capable of going home with the prize, however, some of the more fancied starters in the series are-

? Shane MacDonald from Charlton Raceway, Toowoomba, who is the current Queensland Champion.
? Todd Doyle from Gympie who has two Australian Titles as well as state titles to his credit.
? Aidan Raymont from Gympie who is a multi state award winner.
? Mark Raymont from Gympie who is also a multi state award winner.
? Greg Worling from New South Wales who is also a multi award winner both on the National and State scenes.
? Steve Price from Sunshine Coast Club who is the current New South Wales Champion having won back-to-back NSW Titles in 2008 and 2009.
? Johnno Collins from Cairns who is a multi award winner.

This is only a small sample of the talent on show in the series and is by no means conclusive.
It will be a brave punter indeed who names any one of the 50 competitors entered in round one of both series as a standout favourite.

Best tip – Sit back folks and enjoy the action.