Super Field for BIS Super Sedan Series Round 6

23/11/10…SSA Media Release

Momentum is building in the chase for the 2010/2011 Ian Boettcher Proton Super Sedan Championship Series and this weekend sees the biggest field of the season thus far nominated for round six at Brisbane International Speedway.  In fact, the B&T Bobcat and Tipper Services-sponsored event on Saturday night (November 27) will feature the strongest field gathered anywhere in Australia so far this season! 

Amongst the 26-car field are no less than six state or national championship winners, including current Australian champion Jamie McHugh, New South Wales titleholder Darren Kane and National Super Sedan Series champion Matt Pascoe.  McHugh will be making his season debut aboard a brand new Sweet-Dodge and will be desperate to make an immediate impact on the championship. However, it is Kane who currently sits atop the series standings and, having successfully defended his NSW Title last Saturday night in Sydney, the Ipswich-based racer will be brimming with confidence in his bid to increase his points advantage.  Pascoe, meanwhile, will be aboard his own mount for the first time this season following his sensational win in the previous round driving for car owner Mark O’Brien, who returns to the cockpit this weekend and will be amongst the starters on Saturday night. 

Craig Torr, Steve Jordan, Darren Lester and Des Korn, all of whom sit inside the top five in the championship chase, have also nominated for the event in their bid to close the gap on Kane. Jason Campbell is another looking to continue his terrific early season form, while prolific feature race winner Wayne Brims will be desperate to procure his first win of the season having finished on the podium on three occasions from as many starts, including a runner-up finish in the NSW Title last weekend.

The likes of Ian Brims and Steve Pearce are also proven race winners amongst the star-studded line-up, with Colin Hockley, Dale Christensen, Michael Hally – who qualified very strongly at the previous round – and talented youngster Sean Black also capable and confident of featuring prominently in the results. 

Chris Albert, Lenny Black, Barry Craft, Scott Galea, Peter Smith and Grant Shaw are all back in action for round six, while Michael Jenner, Allen Schultz, Jack Childs and Kev Barkle will be making their first appearance for the season, all of whom are capable of upstaging their higher profile rivals should the opportunity arise.

Pit gates open at 3.00pm and drivers briefing is at 4.50pm, with hot laps scheduled for 5.30pm.  Each driver will contest three qualifying heats to determine the starting grid for the 30-lap B&T Bobcat and Tipper Services feature race.  In what is shaping as a blockbuster night of racing, the big support program includes the Polar Ice Speedcar Series, Compact Speedcars and the next generation of Super Sedan stars in the ASCF Junior Sedans.