Qld Super Sedan Series Hits Brisbane this Saturday

11/11/10…SSA Media Release

The 2010/2011 Ian Boettcher Proton Super Sedan Championship Series continues in earnest this weekend with Darren Kane and Steve Jordan squaring up to continue a battle that has them separated by a mere 30 points after three completed rounds.  Kane has two feature wins alongside his name thus far and currently leads the series, while Jordan was victorious in Toowoomba last weekend. Of course, there will be another 15 drivers out to upstage the lead duo on Saturday night (November 13) when Auto Parts 4 U present round five of the series at Brisbane International Speedway. Following the wash-out of round two last month, this will be the first opportunity this season for Brisbane fans to catch some high octane Super Sedan action.

Rockhampton’s Craig Torr, who currently occupies third spot in the championship standings, leads the challengers into battle and he will be hoping to continue his run of top-five results and edge closer to the series lead.  The absence of rookie sensation Darren Lester and Mackay’s Des Korn should provide additional motivation for the likes of Jason Campbell and Steve Pearce to maximise their points haul and elevate themselves into the top five in the championship chase.  The remainder of the series top ten, namely Graeme Elliott, Lenny Black and Chris Albert, are also amongst the nominations.

Interstate representation comes by way of the NSW-based Wayne Brims and Ian Brims, both of whom are proven performers and former state champions.  In what as an impressive and somewhat ominous performance last weekend, Wayne collected an excellent runner-up result in Toowoomba behind Steve Jordan and will be determined to find the top step of the podium on this occasion. 

Also in the field this weekend are Colin Hockley and Sean Black – both of whom debuted new mounts last weekend with success – along with Adam Bradford, Dale Christensen, Barry Craft, Michael Jenner and former Modified Production pilot Michael Hally.

Gates open at 4.00pm, Super Sedans hit the track for hot laps at 5.30pm and the main race program, which also features round four of the Polar Ice Speedcar Series, gets underway at 6.00pm.  Each driver will contest three qualifying heats to determine starting positions for the 30-lap feature event, proudly presented by Auto Parts 4 U.