Pagel Crowned as Super Sedan Series Champion

03/07/17…Webadmin…..courtesy of Super Sedan Association Media Release


The Super Sedan Association hosted their end of season presentation dinner at Brisbane’s Victoria Park Golf Course recently, with 95 people gathering to celebrate the achievements of competitors from the 2016/2107 season. Gympie’s Mark Pagel emerged the biggest winner of all, taking out the Think Money Championship Series after a remarkable season of success.


In Australia’s premier season-long Super Sedan competition, which attracted more than 45 drivers to 11 rounds of racing, Pagel was unstoppable from the outset and set up his championship win with some sensational results in the opening rounds and then remained a force at subsequent events, running at the front of the field with a consistency that ensured he was able to wrap up the championship despite striking trouble in the series final. Although absent from a couple of rounds, Queensland champion Matt Pascoe finished second overall in the championship standings, while another solid season from Ian Brims secured  a third-place finish for the NSW-based veteran. Wayne Randall finished fourth and Australian champion Darren Kane, who also won every round of the inaugural Summer Slam Tour staged by the Super Sedan Association over four consecutive nights, rounded out the top five.  


In the Development Series points it was Nicholas O’Keefe who emerged victorious from Tony Brinkmann and Rodney Craft, while Brinkmann also collected the Rookie of the Year Trophy and the Shock Doctor Award.


Wayne Randall enjoyed a very successful night, picking up the Hard Charger Award and the Geoff McHugh Memorial Trophy as well as being voted Driver’s Driver. Other award winners were David O’Keefe (Most Improved Driver) and Rick Cunning (Crew Chief of the Year).


The Super Sedan Association extends their appreciation to Auto Buyers Guide, Mick Sutton Concreting (Toowoomba), Hamlyns Modern Meats, Autobarn Toowoomba, Supercheap Auto Kingaroy and Good Price Pharmacy, Sykes Haulage, Victoria Park Golf Club and the Roza Family for their generosity for donating raffle prizes for the night.


2016/2017 Think Money Super Sedan Championship Series 


Mark Pagel – 2604
Matt Pascoe – 2401
Ian Brims – 2128
Wayne Randall – 1942
Darren Kane – 1533
David O’Keefe – 1452
Bob McCosker – 1307
Nicholas O’Keefe – 1257
Steve Jordan – 1239
Tonny Brinkmann – 1228
Sean Black – 1188
Jack Childs – 1031
Mark O’Brien – 877
David Musch – 857
Wayne Brims – 778
Dempsie Pails – 777
Rodney Craft – 701
Mick Nicola – 690
Brendan Doyle – 606
Sam Roza – 595
Craig Craft – 553
Jason Campbell – 551
Brian Trevithick – 534
Travis Barron – 528
Glenn Knox – 388
John Sheehan – 370
Sam Grundy – 354
Nick Sampson – 343
Craig Shaw – 300
Ryan Alexander – 276
Gavin Northfield – 275
Gordon Shaw – 222
Tim O’Shea – 192
Matt Williams – 190
Glenn Boulter – 175
Brian Grundy – 172
Rodney Pammenter – 162
Graeme Elliott – 137
Barry Craft – 116
Ed Doherty – 98
Gary Pagel – 60
Rod Gough – 54
Michael Hally – 30
Josh McLaren – 30
Andrew Corbett- 30
Steve Latham – 30


Most Improved Driver: David O’Keefe

Rookie of the Year: Tony Brinkmann

Geoff McHugh Memorial Trophy: Wayne Randall

Driver’s Driver: Wayne Randall

Crew Chief of the Year: Rick Cunning

Hard Charger: Wayne Randall

Shock Doctor Award: Tony Brinkmann


For information about the upcoming 2017/2018 season, visit the SSA website at or follow the Super Sedan Association on Facebook.


The 2016/2017 Think Money Super Sedan Championship Series was proudly supported by:


Think Money, Penrite. Ian Boettcher Race Parts, AFCO Shock Doctor, Sweet Chassis, B&J Car Sales,
Queensland Speedway Spares, Barnes Drilling, Dominator Race Wear, Speedway Australia, J&J Bullbars, M&N Car Carriers, McCosker Contracting, Speedway Sedans Australia, Tania’s T’s, Topline Trophies, Brisbane Truck Centre, Speedway Australia, Brims Concrete, Ford Wreckers Redcliffe

Leave a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.