National Super Sedan Series Starts Monday Night in Brisbane

25/12/10…NASR National Office
The 2010/2011 Carline Mufflers National Super Sedan Series gets underway on Monday night (December 27) at Brisbane International Speedway and is shaping as the most competitive ever with 23 contracted drivers ready to lock horns over 9 rounds of competition.  Although there have been some concerns about the weather, far less rain has fallen in Brisbane over the last three days than was predicted and with the opening three rounds scheduled across a six-day span, series organisers are working with the venue promoters in developing strategies to ensure the series gets underway.
Headlining the star-studded driver line-up is defending champion Mat Pascoe from Ipswich, Queensland, who will face off against the likes of former national champions Darren Kane, Kevin Purton, Michael Nicola and Ron Pyne, along with 18 more of the very best drivers from across the country.  Kane, a former series champion and two-time national titleholder, has enjoyed a terrific start to the season with four feature race wins aboard his Ian Boettcher Race Parts Dominator-Mazda RX8.  However, despite a limited campaign thus far in 2010/2011, Pascoe also has a feature race victory to his name this season and will have a brand new Sweet-Dodge at his disposal in his bid for back-to-back championships. 
The series opens with the Brims Coastal Cement Queensland Cup, the three-night  Queensland swing that comprises the aforementioned Brisbane event and subsequent rounds in Gympie (December 29) and Toowoomba (January 1).  From there, teams head south for the annual Ian Boettcher Race Parts Tri-City Series, which involves three consecutive nights of racing in two states.  The Tri-City gets underway at Mount Gambier (SA) on January 7, followed by two rounds in Victoria at Avalon Raceway (January 8) and Warrnambool’s Premier Speedway (January 9).  Round seven is scheduled for Murray Bridge Speedway (SA) on January 22, with the final two rounds to be staged in New South Wales over consecutive nights at Dubbo’s Morris Park Speedway (February 25) and Sydney Speedway (February 26).    
The full list of contracted drivers for the 2010/2011 Carline Championship is as follows:
Queensland – Mat Pascoe, Darren Kane, Steve Jordan, Trent Wilson, Graeme Elliott, Des Korn, Colin Hockley
New South Wales – Ron Pyne, Brett Hignett, Lachlan Onley, Bernie Roberts, Tony Barklimore
Victoria – Michael Nicola, Lucas Roberts, Dave Mackenzie, Ash Bergmeier
Tasmania – Brad Smith, Kevin Purton, Jarrod Harper, Sam Hughes
South Australia – Dave Gartner, Bill Miller, Shane Best 
In addition to the contracted drivers, strong fields of local competitors are expected to support selected events, with the likes of current Australian champion Jamie McHugh, two-time series champion Wayne Randall and former New South Wales titleholder Wayne Brims amongst those expected to take part in the Queensland Cup.    
With several new sponsors on board, an exciting new race format for the Tri-City events and giveaways galore for race fans at every round, the 2010/2011 Carline Mufflers National Super Sedan Series is shaping as the best ever.  Another exciting development this year is the addition of the Big Screen for round five in Avalon, bringing an exciting new dimension to the series.   
The Carline Mufflers National Super Sedan Series would like to take this opportunity to wish all our competitors, sponsors and fans a very Merry Christmas and we look forward to seeing you at the track.  
For the latest series news and information, visit the official series website at or phone 0410 500571.