Kane Wins National Super Sedan Title

22/02/09…Pam Franz

In front of a huge crowd at the Lismore Showgrounds Speedway last night Qld’s Champion Super Sedan Driver Darren Kane piloted his Ian Boettcher Dominator home to victory.

Kane led the other drivers on a merry dance from flag to flag on a deteriorating track.  Kane had the speed to give himself a buffer on the field at each restart and never looked like being beaten until the last handful of laps when NSW Champion Wayne Brims decided to take to the highline and made up considerable ground to finish in second with Tasmania’s Brad Smith in thrid.

It was unfortunate for defending Title holder, Jamie McHugh, to need to withdraw in the very early stages of the race with power steering problems which had plagued his weekend.  Fellow Qlder Matt Pascoe who was an early favourite also had a disastrous start to the Final event culminating in a roll-over in turn 2 of the first lap of the 40 lap event.

Hard charging budget racer, Qld’s Paul Geary, was in second place for the majority of the race and clung onto 4th place when the chequer appeared.

All who were present would agree that it was some of the best Super Sedan racing seen at a National Title event.

Congratulations to all competitors who took part in this event and put on such a spectacle for the public who ventured to Lismore even though the weather did nothing to encourage attendance.

The 2010 National title for Super Sedans has been awarded to Adelaide’s Speedway City.