Kane Too Strong In NSSS Round 6

10/01/10…NASR National Office

Defending series champion Darren Kane has regained the lead in the chase for the 2009/2010 Carline Mufflers National Super Sedan Series with an outstanding drive to victory in round six at Mount Gambier’s Borderline Speedway last night (Saturday, January 9).  Having qualified his Ian Boettcher Race Parts Dominator-Mazda RX8 on the outside of row two, Kane initially dropped some spots but meticulously edged his way forward before spending the second half of the race locked in a superb two-wide scrap with Matt Pascoe. In a duel reminiscent of their epic clash at Warrnambool last year, this time it was Kane who used the highline to best effect, moving into the lead with 7 laps remaining.

In what was a fantastic race on a multi-groove racetrack, two-time national champ Kevin Purton led the opening lap from the outside front row before Pascoe, who started from pole position, took over the front running on lap 2 and established what looked to be an unassailable lead.  However, when a couple of restarts bunched the field, Kane launched his raid, demoting Purton and Jamie McHugh before rounding up Pascoe. 

A late surge saw round five winner Wayne Brims charge into third spot to secure the lead in the APCO Tri-City Series.  McHugh finished fourth ahead of Purton, who scored his best result thus far in NSSS competition.  Sam Hughes was solid again in sixth, with Wayne Randall, Dave Gartner, Chris Bussey and Trent Wilson (Molytec Australia Dominator-Dodge) rounding out the top ten. 

After qualifying his Thermal Solutions Sweet-Dodge on the second row of the grid, Steve Jordan backslid through the field as the laps wound down, although an 11th-place finish was enough for him to maintain third overall in the series standings.  Ashley Bergmeier was next best after again coming from the B Main, followed home by Shane Best, Bill Miller, a somewhat subdued Michael Nicola and Brad Smith.  With 19 of the 22 starters still running at the fall of the chequer, Lucas Roberts, Michael Doblo and Steve Vaughan completed the finishers.  Those who failed to go the distance were Des Korn, Wayne Miles and Clayton Pyne, whose recovery from a spectacular heat race crash was impressive and deserved greater reward.

The preliminary heats produced some great racing, with wins falling in favour of Pascoe (x2), Kane, Bussey, Nicola, Vaughan, McHugh, Purton and Jordan.

The B Main was also a highly entertaining affair taken out by Wayne Miles in a good recovery from the damage sustained the previous night. Pyne advanced from 8th to fill the runner-up position, while Wilson and Roberts also transferred to the main event.  Provisionals were called upon for the first time in the series, with Bergmeier Smith, Miller and Doblo joining the field.

 Contingency winners

AFCO Shock Doctor Lucky Sevens – Wayne Randall Super Charge Hard Charger – Trent Wilson Oval Express Best Presented Car and Crew – Darren Kane Ian Boettcher Race Parts Hard Luck Award – Lachlan Onley Joe Gibbs Driven Racing Oils Lucky 13 – Shane Best

2009/2010 Carline Mufflers National Super Sedan Series progressive pointscore top ten (after 6 of 10 rounds): Darren Kane 1958, Matt Pascoe 1929, Steve Jordan 1579, Michael Nicola 1505, Dave Gartner 1461, Wayne Brims 1286, Trent Wilson 1280, Sam Hughes 1260, Kevin Purton 1242, Clayton Pyne 1235