Kane Masters Mackay

19/10/10…SSA Media Release

Darren Kane survived a wild opening lap before powering away from the field to win round three of the Ian Boettcher Proton Super Sedan Championship Series at Macs Speedway (Mackay) on Saturday night (October 16).  Having qualified on the front row aboard his Ian Boettcher Race Parts Dominator-Mazda RX8 courtesy of victory in the Dash, Kane led all 30 laps of the Sport Engines-sponsored feature event.

In only his second ever competition outing in the Super Sedan ranks, Modified Production graduate Darren Lester filled second spot in the feature event ahead of Townville’s Trent Wilson, with Craig Torr and Jason Campbell replicating their strong opening round performances to complete the top five.

Rockhampton’s Digger McCallum finished sixth overall, followed by Grant Shaw, Peter Smith and Graeme Elliott, with Brendan Doyle rounding out the top ten. Paul Bauer was the best of the locals in 11th spot, while Lenny Black was the only other driver to go the distance in his return to racing after a lengthy absence.

The first lap of the feature saw Steve Pearce make a spectacular early exit when his attempt to squeeze underneath Torr resulted in contact between the pair that sent Pearce’s Amazing Signs Mustang somersaulting skyward through turn one.  Opening round hero Steve Jordan was another who took no part in the feature event, while Des Korn exited on lap 8 while running strongly in third, having occupied the runner-up spot for the first six circulations.

With two heat wins and the fastest lap of the night, Jordan was the standout performer in the preliminaries, however a DNF in his opening heat ultimately cost him a spot in the Dash.  Kane was very consistent with a win and two runner-up finishes, with Korn, Wilson and Torr also visiting victory lane.  The 6-lap Top Six Dash saw Kane outpace Torr, Pearce, Lester, Korn and Wilson.

With two rounds of competition completed (round two was washed out), Kane now leads the championship chase ahead of Torr, Lester, Jordan and Korn.  The next round will be decided at Toowoomba’s Charlton Raceway on Saturday, November 6.

2010/2011 Ian Boettcher Proton Super Sedan Championship Series progressive pointscore (top ten): Darren Kane 541, Craig Torr 484, Darren Lester 466, Steve Jordan 463, Des Korn 448, Jason Campbell 436, Steve Pearce 370, Graeme Elliott 337, Trent Wilson 251, Chris Albert 227