Josh Arthur Wins Qld Street Stock Title for 2015

24/03/15…Pam Franz….story courtesy

Josh Arthur has won the Queensland Street Stock Title, which was held last night at the Rockhampton Speedway, with a dominant performance in the A Main.

It would be South Australian Jason Duell and Brett Brooks from the Northern Territory, who would qualify best after six qualifying heats, and would start on the front row for the forty lap Championship decider.

Josh Arthur and Travis Hutchison would start on row two, with Jarred Ash and Nathan Barbeler on the third row.Street Stock Winners 2015

Duell would get the best of the start, while Brooks would not complete a lap, hitting the fence in the opening exchange.

Duell would lose power steering after four laps, and a lap later would make contact with Ryan Harris, with Duell being sent to the rear of the field.  With the car overheating Duell withdrew, elevating Arthur to the lead.

Behind Arthur, Hutchison and Barbeler had now moved into the top three, but Hutchison withdrew after fifteen laps, as Jarred Ash moved to second, passing Barbeler at the time Hutchison pulled infield.

Barbeler would pass Ash again, as Arthur drove off into the sunset.  Barbeler and Ash continued to trade positions mid race, before Barbeler headed infield on lap twenty nine.  Stephen English moved to second and Gareth Keith to third, as Ash moved back to fourth with ten laps remaining.

With six laps remaining, Ash moved back to second, as English started to tire.  Keith moved back to third and Michael Nicholls to fourth, while Peter Thompson jumped to fifth place, as English dropped down to sixth.

Positions remained unchanged in the concluding stages, with Arthur winning convincingly.

Earlier the qualifying heats had plenty of action, with Colin Fry of the Northern Territory rolling over in heat four, while Justin Jansen had a heavy crash in heat six.


:: Street Stock

Heat 1 – 10 Laps: 1. NT19 Brett Brooks,  2. RK4 Laurie Storer, 3. NT53 Colin Fry, 4. C99 Peter Thompson, 5. G68 Allen Nottage, 6. G22 Stephen English, 7. RK76 Darren Hoare (9 laps), 8. RK5 Ryley Haynes (9), 9. RK22 Scott Black (8), 10. RK89 Barry Schnabel (5), 11. RK17 Beau Saunders (0). Time: 3.11.578, Winning Margin: 3.834, Fastest Lap: 18.310 NT19 Brett Brooks

Heat 2 – 10 Laps: 1. CR37 Justin Jansen, 2. S18 Jason Duell, 3. RK23 Matthew Storer, 4. M15 Josh Arthur, 5. M7 Travis Hutchison, 6. RK81 Trent Langley, 7. RK53 Gareth Keith, 8. SB88 Nathan Barbeler, 9. RK31 Gillian Keith, 10. CR78 Michael Nicholls, 11. SB3 Jarred Ash (9 laps), 12. SB0 Ryan Harris (8). Time: 3.15.477, Winning Margin: 0.367, Fastest Lap: 18.739 S18 Jason Duell

Heat 3 – 10 Laps: 1. NT19 Brett Brooks, 2. SB88 Nathan Barbeler, 3. RK53 Gareth Keith, 4. CR78 Michael Nicholls, 5. G22 Stephen English, 6. RK22 Scott Black, 7. RK31 Gillian Koch (3 laps), 8. G68 Allen Nottage (1). Time: No Time, Winning Margin: 4.014, Fastest Lap: 17.400 NT19 Brett Brooks

Heat 4 – 10 Laps: 1. M15 Josh Arthur, 2. M7 Travis Hutchison, 3. S18 Jason Duell, 4. SB3 Jarred Ash, 5. CR37 Justin Jansen, 6. RK5 Ryley Haynes, 7. RK81 Trent Langley, 8. RK4 Laurie Storer (6), 9. SB0 Ryan Harris (5), 10. NT53 Colin Fry (1). Time: No Time, Winning Margin: 0.387, Fastest Lap: 17.898 M7 Travis Hutchison

Heat 5 – 10 Laps: 1. M7 Travis Hutchison, 2. SB3 Jarred Ash, 3. G22 Stephen English, 4. C99 Peter Thompson, 5. RK81 Trent Langley, 6. RK22 Scott Black. Time: 3.12.688, Winning Margin: 1.046, Fastest Lap: 18.777 SB3 Jarred Ash

Heat 6 – 10 Laps: 1. S18 Jason Duell, 2. NT19 Brett Brooks, 3. SB88 Nathan Barbeler, 4. CR78 Michael Nicholls, 5. RK53 Gareth Keith, 6. G68 Allen Nottage, 7. M15 Josh Arthur, 8. RK5 Ryley Haynes, 9. CR37 Justin Jansen (5 laps). Time: No Time, Winning Margin: 1.459, Fastest Lap: 18.088 NT19 Brett Brooks

A Main – 40 Laps: 1. M15 Josh Arthur, 2. SB3 Jarred Ash, 3. RK53 Gareth Keith, 4. CR78 Michael Nicholls, 5. C99 Peter Thompson, 6. G22 Stephen English, 7. G68 Allen Nottage (39 laps), 8. RK76 Darren Hoare (38), 9. RK81 Trent Langley (38), 10. RK22 Scott Black (36), 11. SB88 Nathan Barbeler (29), 12. RK23 Matthew Storer (29), 13. SB0 Ryan Harris (19), 14. RK5 Ryley Haynes (17), 15. M7 Travis Hutchison (15), 16. S18 Jason Duell (15), 17. NT19 Brett Brooks (10). Time: No Time, Winning Margin: 3.339, Fastest Lap: 17.666 M15 Josh Arthur

Leave a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.