Jordan Takes Toowoomba

09/11/10…SSA Media Release

Steve Jordan proved too strong at Toowoomba’s Charlton Raceway on Saturday night (November 6), outpacing a strong field to take out round four of the 2010/2011 Ian Boettcher Proton Super Sedan Championship Series.  Jordan qualified on pole position for the Lester Air Conditioning and Electrical-sponsored feature race and led throughout the 30 lap event. 

In his first outing for the year, former New South Wales champion Wayne Brims surged home to annex second spot ahead of Michael Doblo, with Craig Torr and Darren Lester continuing their stellar early season form to complete the top five. Des Korn was next best ahead of Sean Black, Colin Hockley and series leader Darren Kane, who threw everything at Jordan in the early stages of the race until a mistake on lap 15 saw him banished to the rear of the field.

Adam Bradford completed the top ten, with Jason Campbell and Graeme Elliott the only others to go the distance. Amongst those who failed to finish were Shayne Lau, Steve Pearce, Lenny Black, Michael Hally and Wayne Randall. 

A strong 22-car field fronted for competition, with Jordan and Brims collecting two heat wins apiece. Other heat wins were shared between Kane, Lester, Doblo, Korn and Michael Roza.  The luckless Lau clocked some impressive lap times during the heats, but was unable to convert this speed into results.  

The 6-lap dash saw Jordan outpace Kane to secure pole position in the feature event, followed by Brims, Lester, Torr and Doblo.

Despite scoring his worst result of the season thus far, Kane clings to a narrow lead in the championship ahead of Jordan, Torr, Lester and Korn.

The next round of the Ian Boettcher Proton Super Sedan Championship Series will be decided at Brisbane International Speedway this Saturday night (November 13).

2010/2011 Ian Boettcher Proton Super Sedan Championship Series progressive pointscore (top ten): Darren Kane 762, Steve Jordan 732, Craig Torr 729, Darren Lester 711, Des Korn 678, Jason Campbell 636, Steve Pearce 558, Graeme Elliott 522, Lenny Black  337, Chris Albert 289