Darren Kane Wins Qld Super Sedan Title 2013/14

09/12/13…Pam Franz….courtesy of www.speedwaysedans.com

Darren Kane has won the Queensland Super Sedan Title at the Lucas Oils Kingaroy Speedway, winning his second State Title in a fortnight.

A fortnight ago, Kane took the lead with two laps to go, in the New South Wales Super Sedan Title at Morris Park, Dubbo.

On Saturday night, Kane took the lead with eight laps remaining to down South Australian Dave Gartner, and Australian Champion Matt Pascoe, who earlier in the season, defeated Kane in a thrilling A Main, at the same venue.

Gartner and Kane would start on the front row of the grid in the forty lap A Main, with Wayne Brims, Matt Williams, Kodee Brown and Steve Pearce filling the first three rows.

Gartner got the best of the early exchange, leading Kane, Brims, Williams and Brown through the first seven laps.  Brown moved to fourth a lap later, before a fuel pump issue saw the demise of the West Australian.

Meanwhile, Matt Pascoe who qualifed via the B Main was on a charge through the field, and was in tenth place after ten laps.  After fifteen laps he had made sixth place and two laps later, the Australian Champion had moved to fifth.

Garnter continued to lead Kane and Brims at the half way mark, with Steve Pearce becoming Pascoe’s next victim, as he moved into fourth place in an amazing run through the field.

Kane was applying enormous pressure on Gartner, and on lap thirty three Kane took the lead in the race for the first time, relegating Gartner to second.

Soon after Pascoe secured third place, as his brilliant drive continued, demoting Brims to fourth.

Kane started to open a small gap in the concluding stages, and went on to win by 2.680.  Gartner would claim second, while the drive of Pascoe was simply brilliant to claim third.  Fourteen of the twenty starters would finish on the lead lap.


A Main – 40 Laps: 1. S8 Dave Gartner, 2. N1 Darren Kane, 3. N77 Wayne Brims, 4. Q3 Matt Williams, 5. W77 Kodee Brown, 6. Q2 Steve Pearce, 7. T8 Steve Latham, 8. N17 Lachlan Onley, 9. Q0 Brett Randall, 10. Q6 Tim O’Shea, 11. Q4 Mark Pagel, 12. Q12 David Musch, 13. Q97 Jason Campbell, 14. Q26 Sean Black, 15. Q21 Bevan Collins, 16. Q63 Justin Smithwick, 17. A1 Matt Pascoe, 18. Q77 Dempsie Pails, 19. Q17 Colin Hockley, 20. Q1 Michael Nicola


1. N1 Darren Kane, 2. S8 Dave Gartner, 3. A1 Matt Pascoe, 4. N77 Wayne Brims, 5. Q2 Steve Pearce, 6. Q4 Mark Pagel, 7. N17 Lachlan Onley, 8. Q97 Jason Campbell, 9. Q26 Sean Black, 10. Q63 Justin Smithwick, 11. Q1 Michael Nicola, 12. Q0 Brett Randall, 13. Q17 Colin Hockley, 14. Q41 Bevan Collins, 15. Q77 Dempsie Pails (39 laps), 16. Q3 Matthew Williams (30), 17. Q6 Tim O’Shea (30), 18. T8 Steve Latham (28), 19. W77 Kodee Brown (9), 20. SB12 David Musch (8). DNS: Q99 Mark O’Brien.  Time: No Time, Winning Margin: 2.680, Fastest Lap: 16.945 N1 Darren Kane

Leave a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.