Constructors Award for NSSS

11/12/09…NASR National Office

One of the most exciting developments in the evolution of Super Sedans over the last few years has been the increasing competition in the marketplace between chassis manufacturers.  The on-track rivalry between brands is often as intense as the competition between drivers as new design ideas, construction techniques and technical innovations are tested and tweaked in a bid to find an advantage.  To recognise the efforts of these design and construction gurus, the 2009/2010 season will see the introduction of the Carline Mufflers National Super Sedan Series Constructors Championship.

The award will recognise the chassis manufacturer whose product has proven most consistently outstanding throughout the 2009/2010 Carline Mufflers NSSS.  At each round of the series, points will be allocated on a 3-2-1 basis to the first three cars in the feature race, with the constructor accumulating the most points over the ten rounds taking out the award.

The Constructors Championship is about rewarding innovation and, like the Kincrome Crew Chief of the Year Award, it acknowledges the people behind the scenes who play such a significant role in the on-track success of competitors.  Being competitive is as much about having the right chassis package as it is anything else and the effectiveness of the chassis, and it’s compatibility with the driver across a wide range of track surfaces and conditions, is one of the most critical ingredients in the recipe for success.  There are seven different chassis brands being utilised by the contracted driver line-up, with Rocket, Sweet, Dominator, Devil, Bullet, Miller and Best all represented in what should be a competition as closely fought as the championship itself.