Brodie Boss Wins Brilliant Qld Modified Sedan Title

09/06/15…Pam Franz…story courtesy of

Brodie Boss on Sunday night  won the Queensland Modified Sedan Title, at Mac’s Speedway in Mackay, surviving a restart on the final lap to record his maiden State Title victory.

Overnight leaders Rodney Pammenter and Greg Worling would start the 40 lap final on the front row, with Johnno Collins and defending title holder Gavin Fletcher on row two.

Pammenter would get the best of the start, with the early move coming from Michael Learoyd, who moved from seventh to third.

Pammenter would become the first major casualty on lap ten, retiring to the infield, elevating Gavin Fletcher to the lead over Worling  and Learoyd.

Meanwhile Boss had moved to fourth place after fifteen laps as John Benson expired, while a lap later he was joined by Jason Beer, and on lap seventeen the race was turned on its head, with Gavin Fletcher withdrawing from the event while in the lead.Mod Sed Title Winner Boss  07.06.15

Greg Worling then inherited the lead, and looked solid, as he searched for his maiden Queensland Title.  On lap twenty two, a brilliant move put seventeen year old Boss in front, a position he would ulimately secure to the chequered flag.

There was plenty of drama in the second half of the race, with Todd Doyles brilliant run from the B Main, which would see him move to fourth coming to an end on lap twenty seven.  In a race of attrition, Gavin Lorensen would be next to go, eight laps shy of the finish, as Boss opened a race winning lead over the field.

Having received the white flag, a last lap crash, which saw the end of David Jacobi and Adam Jorgensen, resulted in a two lap race to the title.

Mod Sedan Title Winners 2

Boss was able to hold his nerve and became the youngest driver to ever win the Queensland Modified Sedan Title.  Greg Worling would finish second, and on the podium for the very first time, after many years of trying while Kent Menzies who started from well back on the grid was a credible third.  Michael Learoyd, similar to Boss, in his first year out of Junior Sedans finished a brilliant fourth, setting up his podium finish early in the race.  Johnno Collins, Robert Trapp, Peter Gray, Wayne Gilroy, Quintin Clarke and Corey Stein completed the top ten, the only ten to complete the gruelling 40 laps.

SSQ-ModSedans Result 1415


A Main – 40 Laps: 1. MK2 Brodie Boss, 2. L3 Greg Worling, 3. MK5 Kent Menzies, 4. G9 Michael Learoyd, 5. CN21 Johnno Collins, 6. CR23 Robert Trapp, 7. CR78 Peter Gray, 8. MK19 Wayne Gilroy, 9. L81 Quintin Clarke, 10. SB6 Corey Stein, 11. T25 Adam Jorgensen (38 laps), 12. L36 David Jacobi (38), 13. G11 Gavin Lorensen (32), 14. BB7 Todd Doyle (27), 15. MK12 Jason Boss (18), 16. Q1 Gavin Fletcher (17), 17. CR93 Jason Beer (16), 18. V4 John Benson (15), 19. CR8 Rodney Pammenter (10), 20. C69 Russell Harris (3). Time: No Time, Winning Margin: N/A, Fastest Lap: 16.834 Q1 Gavin Fletcher

Photos courtesy of Brian East and Daniel East and Totally Speedway

Leave a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.