## **Smith Snares Series Opener**

SSA Media Release

Tania Smith enjoyed a triumphant return to Super Sedan competition at Brisbane International Speedway on Saturday night (September 30), taking out the opening round of the 2006/2007 A.S. Concrete Pumping Championship Series. Back behind the wheel after more than 12 months on the sidelines, Smith scored a narrow victory in the 30-lap feature event, finishing ahead of Mark Pagel and Greg Maher (Amazing Signs Camaro).

Smith was the dominant force during the preliminaries, qualifying on pole position before leading every lap of the feature event aboard her Rocket Racecars Monaro. Pagel started from position two but spent the opening stage of the race in third spot before moving ahead of John McGeorge, who ultimately dropped another spot to Maher as the laps wound down. In finishing third, Maher scored a career-best result and was justifiably delighted with his performance.

In a somewhat disappointing start to the season, the feature was a very dour affair with a paucity of action at the front of the field. In fact, the leaders inexplicably spent half the race snookered behind a slower car. Thankfully, Darren Kane and Gary Pagel seemed determined to put on a show for the fans and both drivers made every effort to advance their position despite the unfavourable track conditions, finishing fifth and sixth respectively.

Debuting his new Brims Group Pontiac in striking Lightning McQueen-inspired livery, Wayne Brims finished in 7th spot ahead of Des Korn, who proved that passing was possible in advancing from 13th to finish eighth. Newcomer Allan Robertson was next in line, followed by David O'Keefe, Frank Armstrong, Wayne Miles and Steve Pearce. Toowoomba's Lenny Black was the only starter who failed to make it to the finish, exiting on the opening lap with a flat tyre after qualifying strongly inside the top five.

Maher took out the opening heat ahead of John Leslight and Mark Pagel, with Smith downing McGeorge and Peter Warren (Northcoast Concreting Monte Carlo) in heat two. Gary Pagel edged out Leslight in heat three, with Smith finishing third. However, with Leslight relegated to the rear for a starting infringement, Smith advanced to the runner-up spot ahead of Maher. An already depleted field shrunk further when Leslight subsequently withdrew from the meeting. The final heat went to Kane ahead of Mark Pagel and Black.

The Australian Garages and Carports Top Six Shootout saw Smith untroubled in downing Mark Pagel, McGeorge, Maher, Black and Kane (Ian Boettcher Race Parts Mazda RX8) to secure pole position.

Early casualties who failed to make the feature included Warren, Dean Hawkins and rookie Hans Van Der Ryken, who failed to progress beyond hot laps in his debut outing.

Whilst defending series champ Wayne Randall is expected to return for round two in Brisbane on October 14, along with the likes of Paul Geary and Steve Jordan, Smith has secured a significant early points advantage in the chase for the championship.

**2006/2007 A.S. Concrete Pumping Super Sedan Championship Series progressive pointscore (top ten):** Tania Smith 171, Mark Pagel 139, Greg Maher 128, John McGeorge 111, Darren Kane 107, Des Korn 100, Gary Pagel 90, Wayne Brims 87, Frank Armstrong 80, Steve Pearce 76.

## 2006/2007 A.S. Concrete Pumping Service Super Sedan Championship Series Round 1 Brisbane International Speedway – Saturday, 30 September, 2006

First Heat Race (8 laps): 1. Greg Maher (2), 2. John Leslight (3), 3. Mark Pagel (6), 4. Wayne Miles (5), 5. Lenny Black (4), 6. Allen Robertson (8)

Second Heat Race (8 laps): 1. Tania Smith (1), 2. John McGeorge (2), 3. Peter Warren (4), 4. Wayne Brims (3), 5. Darren Kane (6), 6. Dave O'Keefe (7), 7. Dean Hawkins (5), 8. Steve Pearce (8)

Third Heat Race (8 laps): 1. Gary Pagel (2), 2. Tania Smith (7), 3. Greg Maher (6), 4. Dave O'Keefe (1), 5. Wayne Brims (5), 6. Allan Robertson (8), 7. John Leslight (4)

Fourth Heat Race (8 laps): 1. Darren Kane (2), 2. Mark Pagel (1), 3. Lenny Black (3), 4. John McGeorge (6), 5. Des Korn (7), 6. Frank Armstrong (5), 7. Steve Pearce (8)

Top Six Shootout (6 laps): 1. Tania Smith (1), 2. Mark Pagel (3), 3. John McGeorge (5), 4. Greg Maher (2), 5. Lenny Black (6), 6. Darren Kane (4)

A.S. Concrete Pumping Feature Race (30 laps): 1. Tania Smith (1), 2. Mark Pagel (2), 3. Greg Maher (4), 4. John McGeorge (3), 5. Darren Kane (6), 6. Gary Pagel (7), 7. Wayne Brims (8), 8. Des Korn (13), 9. Allen Robertson (10), 10. Dave O'Keefe (9), 11. Frank Armstrong (14), 12. Wayne Miles (11), 13. Steve Pearce (12), DNF – Lenny Black

## The Super Sedan Association is proudly sponsored by:

A.S. Concrete Pumping Services
AFCO Shock Doctor
Sport Engines
CP Pistons
Australian Garages and Carports
Ian Boettcher Nissan
Paul Geary Automotive
Ian Boettcher Race Parts
Racer Pro
tooltruck.com.au
Art by Mickey
Mercedes-Benz Trucks